Guest Post: Meet Tony

Tony Piontek-1 copy.jpgI am Tony Piontek and I ‘m 43 years old and I have lived in New Iberia, Louisiana for about twenty one years.

I’ve made a wonderful path of hope, courage, growth and faith. I know that Special Olympics is a perfect place for any child, teenager, or adult to BE THEMSELVES. I’ve been on the Special Olympics Louisiana Athlete Leadership Council as an Ambassador since 1998. I started Special Olympics Louisiana’s program in 1982. I have been competing for 35 years and i have been competing in the sport of Aquatics for 30 years. I am a multi Gold and Silver Medal Swimmer in State, National, and World Games. In 1995,  I was an Athlete Official as a Timer Judge for the Special Olympics World Summer Games held in New Heaven, CT.

I’ve traveled to many Special Olympics Louisiana speaking engagements, open forums, discussions, fundraising events and more. I love to give back to the community and to the people with disabilities. I was awarded the 2017 Christian Pueschel Memorial Service Award. I am a former Board of Director for the National Down Syndrome Congress, and former Board Member for the Down Syndrome Association of Acadiana from 2008- 2017. I am currently on the Down Syndrome Association of Acadiana Advisory Board. Lastly, I am an Eagle scout. I am now working on writing my own blog with a twist of Stand Up comedy.

Special Olympics is a wonderful place to be. It gives true meaning of what team effort and hard work is. It gives everyone the chance to experience LOVE, SWEAT, AND CHEERS.

We honor our Special Olympics Oath because it keeps all of our hopes, dreams, and faith alive. Special Olympics lets us come together even if we are DIFFERENT. We’re all made equal in God’s eyes.

By: Tony Piontek, SOLA Athlete

2 thoughts on “Guest Post: Meet Tony

  1. Awesome article about an awesome person. I have known Tony for several years . He is very hardworking at whatever he does and he always has that amazing smile.❤️

  2. Awesome article. He is a great guy I had the honor of knowing him thru boy scouts. My son also is a eagle scout and Tony was always around and always helping. Great guy and good luck

Leave a Reply

